Lots of medals for the Irish Rowers in Poznan

Katie O’Brien, PR2 Women’s Singles Scholes, Ireland, Gold, 2022 World Rowing Cup II, Poznan. Credit: World Rowing / Benedict Tuffnell.

A total of 13 views, 13 views

Poznan claimed six Irish crew medals in the second World Cup and Ireland finished fourth in the medal table.

Emily Hegarty and Fiona Murtagh started the medal streak with a bronze medal in their W2 final. Up to the halfway mark, the crew was bow-to-ball with the Czech crew. With each stroke, the third-ranked crew switched back and forth, but the rowers from NUIG and UCC won medals.

Half an hour later Sanita spends their time at Puspur and Joe Hyde on stage. From the start in the medal position, the crew wanted to finish. The Chinese crew made a big effort to get ahead in the last few hundred meters but the Irish crew took it forward to secure the silver medal.

Margaret Cremen’s LW2x from UCC and Lydia Heaphy from Skibbereen RC picked up the starting blocks at 55 strokes per minute, leaving the rest of the field behind in those first few strokes. As the race progressed, the United States and Australia began to move away but there was nothing to separate the rest of the crew. It came down to a photo finish between the Irish crew and the Chinese crew, but it was the Irish who covered it first and won the bronze medal. In the end, the crew had only 0.3 seconds to separate from second to fourth.

Eimear Lambe (Old Collegeians BC), Tara Hanlon (UCC), Africk Keogh (DULBC), and Natalie Long (Killorglin RC) have won W4 bronze medals and the number of Irish medals has reached six. An impressive final blast in the last 500 meters took the Irish crew from fifth place to the bronze medal position.

On Saturday, Katie O’Brien won gold in the PR2 W1x at a new world record while Finton McCarthy claimed the silver medal in the LM1x.

Irish results

PR2 W1x – Katie O’Brien – Gold Medal (World Record)

LM1x – Fintan McCarthy – Silver Medal

LM1x – Gary O’Donovan – 5th B Final

PR2 Mix 2x – Katie O’Brien, Steven McGowan – 4th place

W2- Fiona Murtag, Emily Hegarty – Bronze Medal

W2x – Joe Hyde, Sanita Puspure – Silver Medal

LW2x – Margaret Kremen, Lydia Hefei – Bronze Medal

W4- Eimear Lambe, Tara Hanlon, Afric Keogh, Natalie Long – Bronze Medal

LiveScores is now available at IrishScores.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.